Eating at MacGreasy King with friends

 A contributor on Sparkpeople.com mentioned it was hard going to eat out with friends; she either felt intimidated by their comments when she made healthy choices, or she ended up over-indulging. As I mulled over her thoughts, I began to write down these responses one can make. We know our friends and family, so we realize which ones we can get by with, but if said with a smile and a twinkle in the eye, I think they’d be well-accepted!

  •  “I’ve decided to turn over a new leaf, a lettuce leaf.”
  • “I’ve made a plan to only eat fried or fatty food on days of the week that don’t have a ‘Y’ in them.”
  • “As an American citizen, I’ve decided it’s my patriotic duty to do my part to help stave off the burgeoning health-care crisis.”
  • After hearing a comment on your choices, pretend to look around. When others ask what you’re looking for, say, “Oh, I was searching for your Food Police badge; it must have slipped off.”
  • “Well, I recently noticed a tag on my birthday suit; it said: Limit of one per customer, no exchanges permitted, so I thought I’d better engage in some quality control measures.”
  • “My lily-white cellulite has become quite a fright.”
  • And for those who follow biblical principles: “Scripture says that my body is the ‘temple of the Holy Spirit’, and as such, I’m choosing to treat it with the respect and care God desires.”

 Do you have any favorite responses?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

