Super-simple Tilapia Recipe

Fish and other lean protein can help produce weight loss. (Photo by Ann Maniscalco)

I had made up my mind I would not like tilapia…until I tasted some cooked in a rich, spicy, butter sauce. Deciding to try my hand at a healthier recipe, I came up with this:

  • Tilapia fillets (3-4 ounces each)
  • Parkay buttery spray
  • Cajun spice (I use Chef Paul Prudhomme’s Meat Magic)
  • Lemon pepper

Preheat oven (or toaster oven) to 350 degrees. Line pan with foil. Lightly spritz fillets with buttery spray on both sizes, and dust with spices. Cover and bake about 15 minutes; uncover and bake about 10 more minutes or until done.

I had also decided I was not going to like Mrs. Dash, but I made one fillet with the buttery spray and a good sprinkle of the Original Blend of Mrs. Dash, and found it to be incredibly tasty as well. Either way, a heart-healthy dish, for sure!

(Note from Slimvictory – if you’d like to receive my new articles as they post, please subscribe on my home page. Your comments are welcome and appreciated.)

3 Comments

Filed under calorie reduction, counting calories, food, healthy eating, healthy weight loss, meal preparation, menu planning, nutrition data, recipes

3 responses to “Super-simple Tilapia Recipe

  1. Cindy

    Thanks, Ann…I’m trying to eat more tilapia but it’s really not a favorite. I have some Cajun spice and will try it. I use it a lot for Cajun chicken & rice. I’ve been using some Mrs. Dash chicken spice that’s been pretty good. Used spray butter Crisco but have some of the Parkay so will try that.
    Cindy

  2. Cindy

    This one is called Mrs. Dash Grilling Blends (for) Chicken. 🙂

Leave a Reply

