All canned beans are not created equal!

Daily decisions determine our destination.

One of my health-focused New Year’s Solutions (instead of resolutions) is to eat more dried beans and legumes. I love to cook up a batch of one of our area’s specialties – red beans and rice – using the dried beans, but have been enjoying trying canned varieties, as well.

I was in the mood for a bit of a sweet indulgence this evening, so I warmed up a can of Home Style Baked Beans to go with a tuna sandwich and baby carrots (no eye-rolling…I’m sitting pretty contentedly at my goal weight!). This brand has 140 calories in a half- cup serving (of course, it contains regular sugar and brown sugar, so I lowered the calorie count by draining off most of the syrupy sauce). A can of red beans that also occupies space in my pantry contains 130 cals in half a cup (contains a bit of cottonseed oil), while the same-sized serving of canned cannellini beans weighs in at just 80 calories!

To rephrase a familiar phrase…a bean by any other name…may just have more calories! Label-reading may not provide an endorphin rush, but it sure makes good sense for those trying to carve more calories off their daily food budget.

 (A note from Slimvictory…if you’d like to get emails of my new articles as they post, you can subscribe here on my home page. Your comments are welcome and appreciated!)

Leave a comment

Filed under calorie reduction, counting calories, food, label-reading, making changes, meal preparation, nutrition data

Leave a Reply

