Making a leaner sandwich

Checking out the calories in your bread can make for a "lighter" sandwich! (Photo by Ann Maniscalco)

Many who have stumbled upon this post are surely voracious readers. And for those of us watching our caloric intake, some of the most important reading we can do is in the grocery store aisles.

 

Call me weird, but I enjoy crunching the numbers from labels to get the most for my nutritional buck, and have noticed quite a difference in “servings” of breads. Now I realize some buy the thin-sliced – or “diet” – bread at around 45 calories a slice, so they can have a full sandwich. But I’ve found standard-size bread slices that are .9 ounces that are only 50 calories per slice, and make a hearty sandwich (1 ounce is considered a serving in most food exchanges I’ve seen). But right next to these whole-wheat treats are other loaves that have the same size slices, but they are 70 calories. So what gives?

 

Sugar, for one thing. The 70-cal ones I’ve seen have two grams of sugar per slice, and the 50-cal brand has only one gram. Now perhaps you are shaking your head and thinking, “What difference does 20 calories make”? Well, I love bread, so for me, I can have seven slices of the lower-calorie brand (same serving size) for the same caloric expenditure as five slices of the 70-calorie one. And when I’m craving a piece of cinnamon toast with my milk for a bedtime snack, that extra might just come in handy!

 

Note from Slimvictory: If you’d like to receive new articles via e-mail as they post, you can subscribe on my home page. Your comments and welcome and invited!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under calorie reduction, counting calories, decisions, food, healthy eating, healthy weight loss, label-reading, meal preparation, menu planning, nutrition data

Leave a Reply

