Celebrating the Big 5-0…weight-wise

Adding a spiritual focus to your weight-loss efforts can improve chances of success. (Photo by Ann Maniscalco)

  

Hubby and I celebrated a milestone yesterday. When we weighed in on the scale at a nearby hospital, we found we’d reached a joint weight loss of 50.5 pounds! (I’ve lost 23, and he’s gotten rid of 27.5.)  

 Even though I’m within a couple of pounds of my goal, I know this is not just a “diet” to get off of…I’ll have to stay vigilant with maintenance, eating pretty much like I’ve learned to do over these past months.

 

 Since one of my goals is to have a good balance in the four areas of my life (physical, mental, emotional and spiritual), I’m considering beginning a First Place 4 Health (Christian weight loss program) in my area, as there are none nearby. As many people have discovered, there is within each of us an intense longing for something more, and food is just one way people try to fill the void that only God can satisfy. After focusing so much on the physical side these past months, I now want to spend more of my time on the spiritual aspect. Jesus said, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst” (John 6:35).

 

 Yes, I’m looking forward to a rich feasting on God’s word…and no calories to count! For more info on the First Place program, log on to www.firstplace4health.com – you can find such things as program details, resources, success stories, their current newsletter, recipes, and how to locate a group near you.

 

Note from slimvictory: to receive an email copy of new articles as they post, please subscribe on my home page. You can unsubscribe at any time.

 

  

  

  

2 Comments

Filed under Christian weight loss programs, decisions, First Place 4 Health, food, healthy eating, healthy weight loss, making changes

2 responses to “Celebrating the Big 5-0…weight-wise

  1. Wow, congratulations on your weight loss, that sounds AMAZING! How did you get to it, though. I’d love to hear more from you!

    xoxo

    • Thanks! I was part of a First place 4 Health (http://www.firstplace4health.com) group for a while and also took a 12-week Healthy weight loss challenge in our community. I learned more about how to eat heatlhy and make wise choices. I saw ways I was sabotaging my chances of success by eating out a lot and not knowing the nutritional content (or amounts) of what I was eating, plus I ate candy and desserts regularly. Basically, I’ve followed a well-balanced 1300-1400-calorie diet with a focus on whole grains, lean protein, plenty of fruit and non-starchy veggies, low-fat dairy and healthy fats. Eating to lose weight doesn’t necessarily mean eating LESS, but eating BETTER – some things we enjoy have empty calories that pack on the pounds (like sodas). My hubby had health issues that sent him to the hospital, and he finally decided to follow my plan, and his weight began to drop, too.
      We’ve both seen great improvements with our health, and have come off or lessened several medications.
      More info can be found at http://www.mypyramid.gov. Hope this helps:)

Leave a Reply

