Variety…the spice of diet!

Trying new foods can help us overcome menu boredom while we're trying to lose weight.

 

            How much of weight loss failure could be attributed to sheer boredom? As much as I enjoy baby carrots, green beans, and pickled beets, I’ve got to remind myself that other veggies exist! The creative hand of God has given us a gracious abundance of choices in all the food groups, but sometimes I don’t try new things for fear I won’t like them, or I’m just stuck in a rut. 

            Sometimes – like now, for instance – I’m ready to change up my menu a bit; that seems to help add stick-to-itiveness to my healthy eating program when pizza and rich casseroles are on my mind more than they should be. Last week, I tried a mango (didn’t like it, mind you, but I did sample a few bites). 

            Wal-Mart, here I come! I’m anxious to see what will appear in my buggy……(several hours later)….well, I didn’t find some things I wanted to try, but here are a few things I came home with, to change things up: 

  • Low-sodium V-8 juice®
  • Puffed rice cereal
  • Water chestnuts
  • Baby corn
  • Frozen vegetable medley of carrots, broccoli and cauliflower
  • Sugar-free instant butterscotch pudding
  • Fresh squash and nectarines
  • Seeded rye loaf
  • Meat Magic Seasoning Blend®

            So I’m not very adventurous! But to me, getting new items (or ones I haven’t enjoyed in a while) seems to add a new zest to meals. I’m looking forward to trying these in the next few days! Do you occasionally find yourself in a rut of same-old-same-old? What are some things you enjoy or want to experiment with that could shake up your plate? 

Thought for the day: 

Breakfast boredom, lunch lethargy, dinner doldrums… 

it’s up to you to chase the diet-defeaters away! 

             

Leave a comment

Filed under counting calories, healthy eating, healthy weight loss, nutrition data, recipes

Leave a Reply

