“Thin Tastes Better” author shares insight

Carole Carson, author of From Fat to Fit: Turn Yourself Into a Weapon of Mass Reduction, shared this info on her Facebook page….thanks, Carole!   

**************   

Stephen Gullo, Ph.D., author of Thin Tastes Better and President of the Institute for Health and Weight Sciences, condenses his advice about weight loss into three elements.   

Know thyself 

   

  

Weight loss means freedom, not deprivation 

   

  

Eating thin is a life-management skill 

   

   

  

. Mindfulness about weight is always necessary. Like other skills (such as living within budget), the ability is acquired. Setbacks and discouragement are part of the learning process. Acquiring weight management skills is a gift we give ourselves. If we persist, we’ll have a healthy weight—not by accident—but by life design.  

. A shift in perspective transforms a healthy choice into a preferred one. In the spirit of liberating ourselves from our extra pounds, we can eat less and eat differently. We can celebrate release from enslaving choices!
  

. If knowledge of calories caused weight loss, most of us would be thin. Far more importantly, we must know the source of our downfall, particularly if we find ourselves regaining weight. Instead of abusing the same foods, we have to find permanent replacements.
   

**************************   

(Ann’s thoughts: I’ve heard it said that one muscle we need to continue “exercising” is the one between our ears. This article points that out well. Losing weight involves the mind as well as the stomach.) 

   

 

  

  

2 Comments

Filed under healthy weight loss

2 responses to ““Thin Tastes Better” author shares insight

  1. Andi Cacciatore

    This has been so true for me since my battle with weight loss and fitness began after divorce, career change and menopause all hit me at once. The mind is a terrible thing to “waist” and resources such as this are the best tools I have found for regaining control over my negative behaviors when emotional stress rears it’s hungry head! I have discovered that attempting to master all of my life’s changes simultaneously has caused me more frustration and set me back even further in my “life management training”. I have had to prioritize each in order to prevent myself from becoming overwhelmed. This is another part of the learning process for me, and I am glad to see that it has been put into an understandable and accepting description here. Thanks for the encouraging information!

    • Thanks for your comments, Andi. I don’t understand all the mental aspects that cause people to overeat, but I am hoping to learn more…controlling what goes into our mouth is more than just having will power, I’ve learned. Gonna check into this book soon.

Leave a Reply

